Menu toggle

National Museum of Australia

Where our stories come alive

Collection Explorer


Federation Cup tennis trophy, won by M Court, E Goolagong, and L Hunt in 1971


On display

Federation Cup tennis trophy, won by M Court, E Goolagong, and L Hunt in 1971

Object information


This miniature Federation Cup trophy was presented to Evonne Goolagong following the Australian team's success in 1971. The Federation Cup is the womens' equivalent of the Davis Cup, with national teams competing against each other in an annual tournament. The Davis Cup was first held in 1900 but it took considerably longer for a women's national tennis tournament to be established. The Federation Cup was first held in 1963 and coincided with the 50th anniversary of the International Tennis Federation.

In 1971, following a successful year in international competition, Evonne Goolagong was selected to represent Australia. The final was played in Perth, Western Australia that year and Margaret Court and Lesley Hunt completed the team. Court was ranked among the best tennis players in the world in the 1960s and 70s and had represented Australia in the Federation Cup since its establishment in 1963. Both Goolagong and Court won their singles matches against Great Britain's Virginia Wade and Ann Jones respectively. Court and Hunt then won their doubles match to secure the Cup for Australia.

Physical description

A silver trophy vase with two open hook-shaped handles and a domed metal wire mesh cover over the bowl. 'FEDERATION CUP / 1971 / AT PERTH, WESTERN AUSTRALIA' is engraved on the front. 'AUSTRALIA / MRS. M. COURT (CAPT.), MISS E. GOOLAGONG. MISS L. HUNT / Defeated France / and in the Final, Great Britain / 3 MATCHES TO 0' is engraved in the back. 'STRACHAN' is stamped into the underside of the base.

Statement of significance

The Evonne Goolagong Cawley Collection No. 3 consists of a tennis dress and jacket designed by Ted Tinling, a Federation Cup trophy, and a junior tennis trophy. The objects belong to Evonne Goolagong Cawley and directly relate to her tennis career. All objects are in very good condition.

Evonne Goolagong Cawley is one of Australia's most successful female tennis players. During her career she won seven Grand Slam tournaments, including 4 consecutive Australian Open titles and two Wimbledon titles nine years apart. She is the only Indigenous Australian to achieve success in tennis at an international level and has been inducted into both the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the Australian Tennis Hall of Fame.

Physical description

On display at the National Museum of Australia.

Object information

Back to top